Skip to Main Content Skip to Sitemap
Site header search assets
dismiss X icon
Congratulations to our 2023 scholarship and professional development award recipients category tag image

Congratulations to our 2023 scholarship and professional development award recipients

Congratulations to our 2023 scholarship and professional development award recipients

Supporting image for article on Congratulations to our 2023 scholarship and professional development award recipients

Educational Systems Federal Credit Union is proud to announce the 2023 scholarship and professional development award winners. This year, $90,000 was awarded to 25 students and 15 educators to help continue their education. The scholarships and awards are made possible through the Support Education Foundation, which was started by the Credit Union to provide funding and resources to help the education community.
“It is an incredible honor to be selected as a recipient of the Community College Scholarship,” stated Jalynn Somerville, a student at the College of Southern Maryland. “This scholarship will undoubtedly alleviate a significant financial burden and enable me to focus on my academic pursuits, extracurricular activities and personal growth during my studies.”

“For us, it’s an honor to Support Education,” said Girado Smith, Educational Systems FCU President and CEO. “We are committed to helping future generations achieve academic success by providing resources to continue learning and growing. Congratulations to all of the recipients of the scholarships and professional development awards!”

$3,000 Dorothy Marvil Scholarship:

  • Eian Manalo, Anne Arundel County
  • Sasha Barley, Calvert County
  • Joanna Schoonover, Caroline County
  • Kate Bright, Charles County
  • Aidan O’Connor, Frederick County
  • Susan Kuhn, Howard County
  • Marley Pinsky, Montgomery County
  • Lakayla Chapman, Prince George’s County
  • Luke Shaffer, St. Mary’s County
  • Kylie Weems, Talbot County

$3,000 Rosemary Brinkley Business and Finance Scholarship:

  • Cameron Travis, Anne Arundel County
  • Yudith Torres, Calvert County
  • T’Isiah Batson, Caroline County
  • Griffin Fitzpatrick, Charles County
  • Maegan Long, Frederick County
  • David Liu, Howard County
  • Arman Rezaie, Montgomery County
  • Amber Ware, Prince George’s County
  • Kanye McMahon, St. Mary’s County
  • Kai Kelly, Talbot County

$3,000 Community College Scholarships:

  • Jalynn Somerville, College of Southern Maryland
  • Judith Hoza, Frederick Community College
  • Daniela Bendezu, Howard Community College
  • Sara Simmons, Montgomery College
  • Bethelihm Berihun, Prince George’s Community College

$1,000 Maurice Erly Professional Development Awards:

  • Ann Autry, Anne Arundel County
  • William Colley, Calvert County
  • Amy Bauman, Caroline County
  • Dianne Sumler, Charles County
  • Lauren Graziano, Frederick County
  • Morgan Gralla, Howard County
  • Laura Ellis, Montgomery County
  • Sonja Oakcrum-Hale, Prince George’s County
  • Edward Williams, St. Mary’s County
  • Leslie Jefferson, Talbot County

 Community College Educators

  • Tracy Hamm-Simmons, College of Southern Maryland
  • Sunday Onagbiye, Frederick Community College
  • Karla Hercules, Howard Community College
  • Surayya Johnson, Montgomery College
  • Stacey Holloway, Prince George’s Community College
The 2024 scholarship and professional development awards application period opens January 2, 2024. For more information, visit
Educational Systems FCU has proudly served the education community since 1955. With $1.2 billion in assets and 13 branches, the Credit Union serves 85,000 members of the education community including school employees, students, parents and individuals working for education-related organizations.
In 2017, the Support Education Foundation was established by Educational Systems FCU to help fulfill its core purpose of serving the education community. The Foundation is named after the Credit Union’s mantra of Support Education. It is a 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to raising funds for  scholarships, professional development awards and other initiatives to help students and those who work in education. To learn more, visit